Power Play

One of my favorite looks for spring is the maxi skirt. I love the skirt I’m wearing here because it combines a few spring trends- firstly the maxi skirt as mentioned, second the asymmetrical look (Note that the skirt is shorter in the front than in the back), and third, it harnesses this season’s pastels through the mint color. I call this skirt my “power skirt” because whenever I wear it I know I am making a big statement and get a lot of attention. If you are on the shorter side, I would recommend wearing a maxi skirt with the asymmetrical look like this and with wedges. The heels will give you height, while the asymmetrical look will keep there from being too much fabric-which usually caused short people to look shorter and boxy. Taller people can follow these same rules, or also wear the skirt with flats. I like to pair my maxi skirts with both of those options, as I am on the taller side. With a pastel color like this, I recommend pairing it with another pastel, a similar color for a color-block effect, or with a neutral. I will be doing another post later about how to specifically wear this season’s mint.

XOXO

Lauren

Credits:

Shirt: J. Crew

Sweater: J. Crew

Skirt: Anthropologie Similar

Bracelets: Nordstrom

Shoes: Tory Burch

2 thoughts on “Power Play

  1. N (doesn't have the same ring, does it?) says:

    New post! I love your skirt. I recently bought a maxi dress (it was a beautiful fabric, I couldn’t resist). Do the same rules apply in your humble opinion?

Leave a Reply

