Frankenstein at SF Ballet

thumb_IMG_1986_1024

Last month I went to see San Francisco Ballet’s adaptation of Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein. Admittedly, I have never read the book and all my impressions of the story were of the green monster variety. I thoroughly enjoyed seeing the gothic story paired with the romance of the ballet. Ballet always seems to be based on pushing the physical body and seeing what composes us, while Frankenstein wrestles with how the emotional and conscious sides of humans are developed and furthered.

I love taking inspiration from events when planning out my evening outfits, and this was no exception. I opted for a beautiful tulle skirt with sequined stars and moons embroidered onto it for something reminiscent of a ballerina skirt. Naturally I had to pair the skirt with a delicate pair of metallic ballet flats. To this I added a sophisticated cold shoulder top in the ultimate romantic shade—pink. Of course the drama of the outfit would not be complete without some sparkly earrings!

Top: Topshop Skirt: Anthropologie (Similar) Shoes: French Sole Bag: Kate Spade (Similar) Earrings: Anthropologie (Similar)

Leave a Reply

